Hatha Yoga

Hatha Yoga brings balance between the body, mind and vital forces. It allows us to move with freedom and confidence in all aspects of our lives.  With force and determination along with synchronized breath and movement we slowly make adjustments to our physical, emotional and spiritual bodies.  With a dedicated regular practice and pure intention, we notice the benefits of yoga.

The continued practice of yoga will lead us to a sense of peace and well-being, and also a feeling of self acceptance and being at one with the environment and our connection with people and the universe as a whole.

The word yoga means “union” in Sanskrit. Sanskrit is the language of ancient India where yoga originated.  Yoga embraces the body, mind and spirit to function in perfect harmony.  What is frequently referred to as “yoga” can be more accurately described by the Sanskrit word asana, which refers to the practice of physical postures or poses.

Asana is only one of the “eight branches” or “limbs” of yoga; the others focus mainly with mental and spiritual well being rather than physical activity. Today, however, the word yoga “asana” one thinks of only physical postures but yoga or Ashtanga yoga is an eight-fold path.

The eight “limbs” of yoga are:

Yama: means universal commandments such as truth, honesty, etc.

Niyama: means personal disciplines e.g. cleaniness, purity,

Asana: means physical postures of the body

Pranayama: means control of prana or vital breath

Pratyahara: means withdrawal of sense organs. nature of mind

Dharana:  means deep concentration for developng inner vision

Dhyana: means intense meditation for long periods of time

Samadhi: means Super-conscious state, the goal of yoga